2013 Worldwide Photo Walk: Corvallis

2013 Photowalk - low res-6

On Saturday morning, I had the opportunity to go out with a local group of photographers for Kelby’s annual Worldwide Photo Walk here in Corvallis, Oregon.

A huge thank you to Kat Sloma for leading this year’s event!

The weather in Corvallis was expected to get near 70 mid day but I was glad to see some early morning fog downtown near the river.  And by late morning it had all but burned off.

Just to be honest, I typically find it difficult to shoot in downtown Corvallis.  It’s probably because I’ve been here near 20 years and I’ve walked the streets many times with a camera (the downtown really isn’t all2013 Photowalk - low res-9 that big).  And just about every time I pull out a camera down there those “been there, done that” storm clouds start raining on me again.

That said, below are a few more from the morning in no particular order.

Earlier in the morning, I clung to the fog.  Later in the morning, it was the light shining down the east-west streets that caught my attention.

When it comes to photo walks – there’s always discussion on gear.  This year I kept it light.  Really light.  OK – maybe not as light as the mobile-photography folks.  But much, much lighter than I’ve been in years past.  This year I had just the X100s – and in a jacket pocket I had two extra batters, one extra memory card, a lens cleaning cloth, and one little dinosaur that came in a Photojojo package – just in case it got boring out there (figured I could capture him in various Corvallis locations).   Smile

2013 Photowalk - low res-3

2013 Photowalk - low res-11

2013 Photowalk - low res-4

2013 Photowalk - low res-2

2013 Photowalk - low res-10

Please tell us what you think.

