7 Resources on (small flash) Lighting

One of the challenges I gave myself for 2010 was to get better at portraits.  As it turns out – I’ve recycled that challenge in 2011…

photo sketch0001 - croppedAs part of that goal – I also want to learn to light better.

And that has led me to look for resources on photon slinging.  So – while I’m knee deep in tutorials – I want to pass along some of the best resources that I’ve stumbled onto over the last couple of years (and, by no means, should this list be considered complete or exhaustive).  These are just texts (and one DVD) that I’ve found to be both accessible and packed full of great information.

But – before I turn you loose on the list – I should probably let ya’ll know that I’m not looking to fill a studio with strobes.  In fact – quite the opposite.  I’d like to learn to light effectively with minimal gear.

So – in no particular order – 7 resources on lighting:

  • Zack Arias’ OneLight Field Guide.  You can read my review here.
  • Zack Arias’ OneLight Workshop DVD.  Still working through this.
  • Scott Kelby’s Photo Recipes Live: Behind the Scenes.  And as it turns out – Kelby has just released Vol. 2.  But the gem in this book is Kelby’s ease and style in the videos.
  • Syl Arena’s new book – Speedliter’s Handbook.  Do you shoot Canon and Canon flashes?  Here’s your book.
  • Strobist Photo Trade Secrets by Zeke Kamm. Now – I’ve only been looking through the first volume – but imagine 24 photos along with their Strobist lighting diagrams (and make sure to check out Strobist’s Lighting 101).
  • Joe McNally’s Hot Shoe Diaries.  This is a great book.  It’s probably too early to call this a modern classic on portable lighting (OK – so I won’t) – but you can read my review here.
  • Seeing the Light by Mitchell Kanashkevich.  This ebook is available on Mitchell’s website – and is an excellent primer for in-the-field lighting.

And for a great primer on portrait photography –check out DPS’s Essential Guide to Portrait Photography ebook.

Did I miss any of your favorites on flash management (or do you have a favorite on portrait photography)?  If so – I’m listening.  Let us know below.

Please tell us what you think.

