Motorcycles at Portland International Raceway

2Fast Track Day at PIR - 26 Aug 2009-8In late August, Galen (#38 above) invited me up to the 2Fast Motorcycle Track Day and Instruction at Portland International Raceway (PIR) to do a bit of shooting.  A great opportunity – as I hadn’t yet tried motorsports.

And to be honest – I didn’t really know what to expect – and after 4 or so hours out there – I came home with +5000 frames.  Did I need that many shots?  No – not at all.  But I also didn’t know the next time I was going to get the chance to shoot at a race track – so I just kept experimenting.  What’s a few more bits, right?

A couple of things I learned:

  • Motorcycles are really fast (seems obvious, yes?).  I kept my lenses on autofocus – and the L glass / 50D combo did a pretty good job keeping up – but I understand why many will recommend manual focus – and to anticipate a shot at a particular point on the track.
  • Earplugs. I threw some disposable ones in my bag.  Glad I did.  It’s loud out there.
  • Sunscreen and water and an energy bar. If you’ve been to racetracks – you know how big they are – if you haven’t – they can be big.  Walking to a far corner of the track can take some time – once you’re out there – having water / food on hand is a good idea.
  • There can be a lot of walking at a track. A lighter gear bag will make the treks easier.
  • There’s a lot of chain link fence at race tracks. Finding clear access points may be difficult if you don’t have credentials.

2Fast Track Day at PIR - 26 Aug 2009-3

2Fast Track Day at PIR - 26 Aug 2009-192Fast Track Day at PIR - 26 Aug 2009-2

2Fast Track Day at PIR - 26 Aug 2009-1

Please tell us what you think.

