B-17G: Nine-O-Nine

WWII Bombers - B17 - June 2014-1The Collings Foundation and their trio of aircraft again visited Corvallis this year.  And as I checked the archives of this blog – it looks like it’s been about 5 years since I last checked into the mostly-annual event.

They were scheduled to arrive on Wednesday, so I decided to try and catch the planes on approach (top photo).

WWII Bombers - B17 - June 2014-11As it turns out, as of midday Thursday, the P-51 still hadn’t arrived to Corvallis – but the bombers were available to scramble through.

On my way to the airfield, the overcast day was a bit disappointing, as I was looking forward to some blue-skies behind the shiny bombers.  But then I remembered a small bit not long ago from Kelby and his experiment of shooting iconic sites around the world on “seamless”.  In other words – he tried to highlight the structural beauty of the scenes – and simply treated the gray overcast as a giant softbox – and just let the background blowout (at least that’s how I interpreted it).  So I thought I’d give it a try (just for fun).  WWII Bombers - B17 -June 2014-5

WWII Bombers - B17 - June 2014-10The B-17G was the easier plane of the two to try this technique for two reasons.  The background behind it was a bit less cluttered – but more importantly – more people were meandering around the B-24.  Smile

For walking through the plane – I preferred the fisheye – as I thought it paired well with the curved interior spaces.

WWII Bombers - B17 - June 2014-6

(and if you’re curious – here’s my earlier post on the Nine ONine)

Please tell us what you think.

