iPad: First Impressions

ipad

It just so happens that next to one of the favorite lunch spots – there’s a Mac store.  So – last week after lunch – Henry and I made a point to go over and see if they had any iPads.

Sure enough – they had 3 of them powered up and ready to explore.

Now – one of my co-workers stood in line on that first Saturday morning – and had already brought it in for our greasy fingerprints to slide all over – but I was hoping to get a few questions answered – and I was hoping to try a little web surfing on it.

Success on both accounts.

Bottom line: the iPad delivers a compelling experience.  I’m not an Apple dude – nor do I even own an iPod (just a run-of-the-mill MP3 player for the office and workouts) – but I was quickly at home with the iPad.  It was mostly intuitive and comfortable. And though I think my netbook is pretty cool – tablets are pretty cool, too.  I’m persuaded that I’d like to eventually replace my netbook with a tablet-like device.  And maybe it will be an iPad – but I’m OK waiting to see some of the other options that come down the road.

Now – for some specifics.

Pros:

  • Is the iPad’s monitor calibrated at the factory?  The screen didn’t appear to be the typical “cool” that most LCD’s offer straight out of the box.  When I surfed to my sites – the photos looked accurate – and seldom does that happen on non-calibrated monitors.
  • Blog looked good – as did the Facebook FanPage.  Images looked bright and sharp.
  • “Keyboard” was responsive – not too small for my fingers.  Gesturing was intuitive (e.g. pinch-to-zoom).
  • This could be a great portfolio tool.  The accelerometer was responsive when changing between portrait and landscape mode.
  • This platform will be just sort of brilliant for reading photography ebooks – such as those from Craft & Vision.  Bi-stable displays (such as those used on earlier ebook devices), in my opinion, did quite well with text – but just weren’t built to handle images.
  • There’s a bit of heft to this machine.  It did feel solid.
  • And, generally, the device was responsive as I moved from app to app.

Cons:

  • Images loaded a bit slow.  Not sure where there was a bottleneck.
  • Flash.  Yeah – you knew I would mention this.  My gallery has a Flash front page – and the “mobile” version just didn’t float my boat (now this is not a knock on SmugMug.  On the contrary – SmugMug rocks!  They’ve done some great work to offer a “mobile” interface so as to insure that our portfolios are rendered on most devices out there.  That’s clearly great customer service.).  But until one of two things happens:  (1) Apple steps up and takes one for the team or (2) everyone else dumps Adobe’s Flash – there will be gaps in the web experience.
  • I would really like to be able to interact with ebooks more – things like highlighting text, writing in the margins, and whatever the digital version of dog-earing pages turns out to be.  Maybe there’s an app for that?

Middle of the Road:

  • Lack of camera.  Frankly – this is no real concern of mine.  Pulling one of these out to snap a picture – I think – would be about as convenient as using a large format camera for that “fun” moment.  That said – a video camera for Skype or something similar could be useful.
  • Of course, there is a small learning curve (all new hardware / software has some) – but any fumbling along the way was simply due to my complete lack of knowledge about anything Apple / Mac.  Overall – it was pretty easy to use.
  • A USB and/or card slot would likely be useful – but there’s always trade-offs in a device like this.
  • Some folks I’ve talked with think that 3G will be the icing on the cake.  And I don’t have a reason to disagree with them.  But – I can typically wait for wi-fi spots – and keep 3G to smart phones.  Then again – when it’s time to plunk down some cash on something like this – my tune might change.
  • The metal back looks cool – and I think I could get used to it – but it didn’t always feel “sure” in my hands.

And like I said – I don’t see me buying one straight away – but – hey – anything could happen.  I’m intrigued by this Linux / Android talk – as my current netbook runs Linux – and it’s pretty cool.  And of course, the Windows 7 devices will likely be quite capable, too.

But – regardless – I highly recommend – especially if you’re a photographer – to jump into your local store and try one out.  Open up your webpage – or your friend’s webpage – and cruise through it.  Read your favorite blog.  And flip through the pages of a pre-loaded book (it’s kinda fun).  These are spiffy devices – and I’m persuaded that hardware like this will have a good run.

Now it’s your turn – do you have an iPad?  Thinking about getting one?  Waiting for something else?  Just not interested?

One thought on “iPad: First Impressions”

  1. I’m waiting for my 3G iPad to be delivered – along with the “Camera Connection Kit” which includes a USB dongle and an SD card reader dongle. It is supposed to handle RAW images but probably only displays the JPG images inside the RAW images.

    Like this

Please tell us what you think.

